I’m finding about.me a fascinating platform both to personally utilize and quite interesting to uncover tons of interesting people form all over. It is clean, beautifully designed, easy to use, and does fill a niche unlike any other social networking platforms I am familiar with.

Tony Conrad

The story of about.me‘s creation, acquisition and recent spin out tends to generate a lot of interest and conversation. “Why did we start about.me?” very quickly leads to “what are you going to do with it next?”

When I think about the “why” behind building about.me, I tend to reflect on my own history with other founders. Over the past decade and a half, I’ve been lucky to work with a number of entrepreneurs I consider to be “founders of movements”: Matt Mullenweg (WordPress), James Freeman (Blue Bottle Coffee), Bre Pettis (MakerBot), Kevin Rose (Milk, Digg), Philip Rosedale (High Fidelity, SecondLife), and Jeff Veen (Typekit) to name a few. These founders create more than great companies, they put things in motion, envisioning at their inception a way of life that doesn’t exist yet. They have an innate sense of how others will engage with the products they build and…

View original post 734 more words

