How strange that I read this post, today, chosen from a long and titillating list. Today, being another one similar to the last few, where I find myself glued to these machines and contemplating how I really should begin to seriously consider blogging, regularly and not once every few years. Hmmmm, but this gives me pause. Maybe I should just go back into the studio and paint and leave the writing to others. Life is where we are. Right here. Right now. It’s all we really have. Ever. Choices…. I feel your angst…..

The Dish

shipcape.jpg

One of the things I’ve always tried to do at the Dish is to be up-front with readers. This sometimes means grotesque over-sharing; sometimes it means I write imprudent arguments I have to withdraw; sometimes it just means a monthly update on our revenues and subscriptions; and sometimes I stumble onto something actually interesting. But when you write every day for readers for years and years, as I’ve done, there’s not much left to hide. And that’s why, before our annual auto-renewals, I want to let you know I’ve decided to stop blogging in the near future.

Why? Two reasons. The first is one I hope anyone can understand: although it has been the most rewarding experience in my writing career, I’ve now been blogging daily for fifteen years straight (well kinda straight). That’s long enough to do any single job. In some ways, it’s as simple as that. There…

View original post 1,075 more words

